train by hiwassee river

Buy Your
Tickets Now!


All Aboard at the Tennessee Valley
Railroad Museum!

Aboard the Tennessee Valley Railroad, you will ride a rolling time machine providing the sights and sounds of yesteryear.

Hiwassee Loop

Content
  1. Trip Details
  2. Cost
  3. Video/Photo
  4. Ticket Pickup
  5. Fall Foliage Map
  6. Train Times
  7. Direction to Train
  8. Other Etowah, TN Trips

Trip Details:

Enjoy a 50-mile round trip up the beautiful lower Hiwassee River gorge. This 3-1/2 hour trip will take you to the top of the famous "Hiwassee Loop" where the tracks cross over themselves as they corkscrew up the mountain near Farner, Tennessee. For a sneak peek at this adventure, click HERE.

Special rates available for groups of 25 or more during the "non-peak" season, and charter trips can be arranged for groups of 80 or more.  Contact the TVRM office for information.

Departure from Etowah is 1:30pm; return is approximately 5:45 p.m. **All times are Eastern Standard**

Additional Information:

  • Snack items are available for sale on the train including soft drinks, coffee, water, chips, crackers, and candy bars.
  • Souvenirs are sold onboard including t-shirts, caps, and books.
  • Restrooms are located on each train car.
  • Trains consist of enclosed, climate-controlled coaches pulled by a diesel locomotive.
  • All seating is general admission onto the train.
  • The L&N Depot & Museum is located at 727 Tennessee Ave SOUTH in Etowah, TN 37331

Cost:

This train departs from Etowah, TN and NOT from Chattanooga. Etowah, TN is in Eastern Time Zone.

On dates shown, shuttle buses depart from Etowah at 1:30 p.m. (A few dates include an early trip on which shuttle buses will depart Etowah at 9:00 a.m. and 1:30 p.m.) Ticket prices vary by season and date; prices shown below are for Spring & Summer: Cost is $42 per adult and $30 per child ages 2-12. Children under 2 years ride free if not occupying a seat.  Prices are slightly higher during the peak Autumn season. All trains run rain or shine. Ticket sales are final. DIRECTIONS

For special savings, consider our Family 4-pack which features 2 adult and 2 child tickets for just $99. This offer is good on most trips from March through September.

Premium seating is available:

  • Observation areas tickets start at $78 per ticket (Observation car is in the back of the train and requires an individual to walk through 5 passenger cars to these seats.) - Not recommended for individuals with mobility/walking issues.
  • Dome tickets start at $93 per ticket (Additional to walking through five passenger cars, an individual for a dome seat must be able to walk up 8 short steps for their seat.) - Not recommended for individuals with mobility/walking issues.

Learn more about Hiwassee Premium Seating.

Special Educational Rates:

Special educational rates are available for the Hiwassee Loop excursion, which is a 3-1/2 hour trip through the Cherokee National Forest and the beautiful lower Hiwassee River Gorge.  The trip originates at Gee Creek State Park near Etowah, TN and includes a corkscrew climb up the Bald Mountain Loop.

Learn more about Special Educational Rates.

 


Video/Photo:

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Special Assistance Parking / Info

Does your party have any special assistance? 

  • Don't take the bus in Etowah, but please pick up your tickets then go to Gee Creek State Park to meet the train.
  • A loading ramp is available at the train boarding location. 

Gee Creek State Park: 

404 Spring Creek Rd, Delano, TN 37325

For anyone requiring special assistance information and/or details, please contact the railroad office in advance at 423-894-8028.


Food Option:

Dining is not available on the train, although snacks and drinks are sold on board.

You are also welcomed to bring your own lunch with you (alcohol is prohibited on board the train).


TICKETS PICKUP:

At the L&N depot, but NOT at the big window with the "Tickets". First door on the left after walking in the depot. **Please remember to bring your online voucher/receipt to the L&N depot for your official Tennessee Valley Railroad keepsake ticket.**


Fall Foliage Map:

 


Train Times:

NOTE:  A loading ramp is available at the train boarding location.  For anyone requiring special assistance, please contact the railroad office in advance at 423.894.8028 to arrange for directions to avoid having to ride the shuttle bus.

  • Friday - April 27 trip
  • Sunday - April 29 trip
  • Friday - May 4 trip
  • Sunday - May 6 trip
  • Friday - May 11 trip
  • Sunday - May 13 trip
  • Sunday - May 20 trip
  • Friday - May 25 trip
  • Sunday - May 27 trip
  • Friday - June 1 trip
  • Sunday - June 3 trip
  • Friday - June 8 trip
  • Sunday - June 10 trip
  • Friday - June 15 trip
  • Sunday - June 17 trip
  • Friday - June 22 trip
  • Sunday - June 24 trip
  • Tuesday - June 26 trip
  • Wednesday - June 27 trip
  • Thursday - June 28 trip
  • Friday - June 29 trip
  • Sunday - July 1 trip
  • Tuesday - July 3 trip
  • Wednesday - July 4 trip
  • Thursday - July 5 trip
  • Friday - July 6 trip
  • Sunday - July 8 trip
  • Friday - July 13 trip
  • Sunday - July 15 trip
  • Friday - July 20 trip
  • Sunday - July 22 trip
  • Friday - July 27 trip
  • Sunday - July 29 trip
  • Sunday - August 5 trip
  • Sunday - August 12 trip
  • Sunday - August 19 trip
  • Sunday - August 26 trip
  • Sunday - September 2 trip
  • Sunday - September 9 trip
  • Friday - September 14 trip
  • Sunday - September 16 trip
  • Friday - September 21 trip
  • Sunday - September 23 trip
  • Friday - September 28 trip
  • Sunday - September 30 trip
  • Thursday - October 4 trip
  • Sunday - October 7 trip
  • Thursday - October 11 trip
  • Sunday - October 14 trip
  • Thursday - October 18 trip
  • Sunday - October 21 trip
  • Wednesday - October 24 trip
  • Thursday - October 25 trip
  • Sunday - October 28 trip
  • Thursday - November 1 trip
  • Sunday - November 4 trip
  • Sunday - November 11 trip
  • Sunday - November 18 trip
  • Sunday - November 25 trip

Friday - April 27 trips 

Friday - Apr. 27, 2018
Time
1:30 P.m.
Hiwassee Loop Train Ride    
Type of Ticket Seats Price
Dome 6 $93
Observation 12 $78
Coach 159  
Coach (Adult)   $42
Coach (Child)   $30
Family 4-Pack (From March through September)   $99
     
Location:
   
L&N Depot & Museum, 727 Tennessee Ave SOUTH, Etowah, TN 37331   Buy Tickets

Sunday - April 29 trips 

Saturday - Apr. 29, 2018
Time
1:30 P.m.
Hiwassee Loop Train Ride    
Type of Ticket Seats Price
Dome 0 $93
Observation 0 $78
Coach 137  
Coach (Adult)   $42
Coach (Child)   $30
Family 4-Pack (From March through September)   $99
     
Location:
   
L&N Depot & Museum, 727 Tennessee Ave SOUTH, Etowah, TN 37331   Buy Tickets

Friday - May 4 trips 

Friday - May 4, 2018
Time
1:30 P.m.
Hiwassee Loop Train Ride    
Type of Ticket Seats Price
Dome 8 $93
Observation 10 $78
Coach 158  
Coach (Adult)   $42
Coach (Child)   $30
Family 4-Pack (From March through September)   $99
     
Location:
   
L&N Depot & Museum, 727 Tennessee Ave SOUTH, Etowah, TN 37331   Buy Tickets

Sunday - May 6 trips 

Sunday - May 6, 2018
Time
1:30 P.m.
Hiwassee Loop Train Ride    
Type of Ticket Seats Price
Dome 8 $93
Observation 4 $78
Coach 172  
Coach (Adult)   $42
Coach (Child)   $30
Family 4-Pack (From March through September)   $99
     
Location:
   
L&N Depot & Museum, 727 Tennessee Ave SOUTH, Etowah, TN 37331   Buy Tickets

Friday - May 11 trips 

Friday - May 11, 2018
Time
1:30 P.m.
Hiwassee Loop Train Ride    
Type of Ticket Seats Price
Dome 2 $93
Observation 2 $78
Coach 155  
Coach (Adult)   $42
Coach (Child)   $30
Family 4-Pack (From March through September)   $99
     
Location:
   
L&N Depot & Museum, 727 Tennessee Ave SOUTH, Etowah, TN 37331   Buy Tickets

Sunday - May 13 trips 

Saturday - May 13, 2018
Time
1:30 P.m.
Hiwassee Loop Train Ride    
Type of Ticket Seats Price
Dome 2 $93
Observation 2 $78
Coach 155  
Coach (Adult)   $42
Coach (Child)   $30
Family 4-Pack (From March through September)   $99
     
Location:
   
L&N Depot & Museum, 727 Tennessee Ave SOUTH, Etowah, TN 37331   Buy Tickets

Sunday - May 20 trips 

Sunday - May 20, 2018
Time
1:30 P.m.
Hiwassee Loop Train Ride    
Type of Ticket Seats Price
Dome 2 $93
Observation 2 $78
Coach 155  
Coach (Adult)   $42
Coach (Child)   $30
Family 4-Pack (From March through September)   $99
     
Location:
   
L&N Depot & Museum, 727 Tennessee Ave SOUTH, Etowah, TN 37331   Buy Tickets

Friday - May 25 trips 

Friday - May 25, 2018
Time
1:30 P.m.
Hiwassee Loop Train Ride    
Type of Ticket Seats Price
Dome 2 $93
Observation 2 $78
Coach 155  
Coach (Adult)   $42
Coach (Child)   $30
Family 4-Pack (From March through September)   $99
     
Location:
   
L&N Depot & Museum, 727 Tennessee Ave SOUTH, Etowah, TN 37331   Buy Tickets

Sunday - May 27 trips 

Sunday - May 27, 2018
Time
1:30 P.m.
Hiwassee Loop Train Ride    
Type of Ticket Seats Price
Dome 2 $93
Observation 2 $78
Coach 155  
Coach (Adult)   $42
Coach (Child)   $30
Family 4-Pack (From March through September)   $99
     
Location:
   
L&N Depot & Museum, 727 Tennessee Ave SOUTH, Etowah, TN 37331   Buy Tickets

Other Hiwassee Trips:


Copperhill Special

Take an extended day-trip excursion through the lower Hiwassee River Gorge, over the Hiwassee Loop, and on to the joint cities of Copperhill, TN, and McCaysville, GA. Total 94 miles roundtrip.

For more information about Copperhill Special trips click HERE

 

SPECIAL EVENTS

Tennessee Valley Railroad Museum is home to numerous special events including:

 

Santa's Hiwassee Holiday Train

This is the second year for Santa's Hiwassee Holiday Train with departures from Etowah, TN. Tickets include light refreshments and a keepsake souvenir for each passenger. The ride will travel approximately 15 miles and last for 75 minutes.

 

Buy Your Tickets Now!


All Aboard at the Tennessee Valley Railroad Museum!

Aboard the Tennessee Valley Railroad, you will ride a rolling time machine providing the sights and sounds of yesteryear.